RSS

The One Year No-Dating Challenge: Month 2 and 3 review

04 Mar

I was sitting at the back of a police land rover and the thought of writing occurred to me. It has been ages before I sat to write for me and it was about time. At the end of one of the longest days ever, I was spent and begging to get home. Therefore my unexpected ‘lift’ from the authorities bolstered me back to reality and out of the bubble I like to travel in.

love-gandhi

I did not write the review for the 2nd month of the one year no dating challenge simply because of my horrid habit of ceaseless postponement. I always had some work to do and kept postponing it to later. I would probably postpone my whole life if I could too. I tend to over think situations and never get to actually do them. The other reason was that I had buried my head deep into a sea of work that I hardly had any time to do my own grooming. The tragedy is that I was not really as busy as I acted but I worked in a haphazard manner that made me move around in a constant rush and I scurried everywhere I went. I was the embodiment of the so called busy-but-not-productive type of life. I can see that now in retrospect but at the time I was sure I was doing things correctly.

Once you engulf your life in work, you will notice something. All of your friends will suddenly see to drift away from you and you will increasingly feel alone and isolated, it may not be true but I sure felt it. I don’t know about you. Next, your whole life begins to revolve around work and you lose the ability to have a normal conversation as you are always busy rushing to nowhere. That is truly a sad existence and if that sounds like your life, the time for change needs to start now.

Over the past weekend, I was a volunteer at a musical festival organized by a certain cancer foundation. It was absolutely fun and I had the chance to meet awesome local celebrities who challenged me to be better and to set on my success story in motion sooner than later. There were artists with academic credentials up to the level of PHDs but they had followed their passions and dreams, which in turn brought them unprecedented fame. If someone can handle a full time corporate job and a side job as a Dj, who I’m I not to balance my daily tasks and deliver them on time? Listening to them was and both enlightening and humbling in one breathe.

I chose to write today, on one of the days where I feel like cow poop, because I cannot help but be blunt when faced with my own mortality and the truth about the condition of my life. This was when I realized that God had led me to the one year challenge for more than the main reason of growing into the type of woman my ideal man would want. God also wanted me to come to the point of spiritual brokenness to realize that he is all I need. That the condition of the heart determines the health of your whole being. That everyone needs some love and being a lone ranger is only cool in movies. As I sit on my bed and type this, a song plays in my head: “Jesus you’re all I need.” I love that song and I can’t help the tears from rolling down my cheeks. It’s the moment I realize a lot of things about my life. The absence of the pure warm hug, the close confidant I can run and cry with and the blatant absence of a clear plan for progress of my own life. You can get so caught up in life’s activities that you forget about yourself and what is really important.

After a long absence, I finally showed up at a certain group meeting I used to attend every Monday evening. When I was asked how I finally managed to show up, I said I did not have anything to do. But I lied. I was lonely, tired and felt down. I just wanted a friend and to see familiar faces. Did it work? Maybe. But it was sure nice to see my sister. At least I was sure someone there was happy to see me. I wish I could tell her that but I am not good at expressing my emotions so I write it down and hope that the wind blows it to her.

I do not wish to depress you but to merely share one of my lowest moments in the hope that someone will identify with it. Incidentally, in these two months that I have been surrounded by the most people, I have felt the loneliest. Your own insecurities can be your own worst enemy and your own mind has the ability to conjure horrific situation that will torment your soul with imaginary tragedies. I think I have learnt the importance of conscious thought and intentional action. Life will truly happen to you if you sit back and let the waves rock you. Emotions should never be a stumbling block but a catalyst for whatever you need to change.

Let yourself feel, let yourself cry, let yourself laugh and let yourself live.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Share your thoughts

 
