RSS

The tragedy of a half-hearted life

28 Sep

A great tragedy befell our country just last week when terrorist unleashed unknown terror to innocent shoppers at the Westgate mall. I was heartbroken and I even felt slightly guilty because I was busy having fun at the Safari Sevens rugby tournament as others were in anguish. But let me not lie, the rugby series was loads of mad fun! I had a great time and scream my voice hoarse.
2013-09-21 17.28.13

Many people are outraged that there were prior intelligence reports on the impending attack and yet no one took any measures. I will not join the bandwagon that is pointing fingers and rebuking the government. Although the Government deserves every bit of scolding that they could get, I chose to take a more personal approach to this Westgate issue.

The take home lessons from this unfortunate incident are numerous. But the story that broke my heart and brought me to tears was that of the president’s late nephew and his late fiancée. A love wrought in heaven ending in a way so tragic. Two hearts destined to mesh together for life until death do them part. Little did they know that they would live to fulfil that vow even before they took it. Child hood friends who eventually fell in love just two years ago and had the type of love that few only dream about. The type that would inspire the most beautiful poetry and songs. Sort of divine in fact. Call me emotional but I’m even tearing up as I write this.
mbugua_and_rosemary
The president’s nephew, Mbugua, had just left his aunt’s house to announce the great news of their engagement and upcoming wedding before heading to Westgate to do some shopping with his fiancée. They were seated in one of the restaurants having Lunch before the terrorists struck. Mbugua died trying to shield his fiancée from the spraying bullets. The post-mortem shows that they died from bullet shots at the same spots on the chest indicating that they were embracing as they had their last moments. They were together even in death. Their impulse was to hold on to each other come what may. Close even when they knew that the end was neigh. Mbugua’s selflessness and bravado is reminiscent of a Kenyan Romeo and Juliet. A love so deep, that not even death could scare you.

I want to have that. I want to have someone who will love me so deeply that he would give his all for me. I want to love so sincerely that I can’t imagine my life without him. I want the same intensity. I want unbridled passion and devotion. I want what they had. How many times in life have you done something with so much intensity that if you stooped you’d get hurt by the sheer force of inertia? Our half-hearted approach to all of life’s’ dealings is our very undoing. Never really fully committing to a particular thing. Always saving a part of you for some unfathomed future that never seems to come. It’s the tragedy of living an experiment at a time, as opposed to a day at a time.
deep_love

It’s more common than not, that we are constantly holding back. Sometimes it’s because of insecurities, laziness, passiveness, mediocrity, complacency or simply fear. It’s a daily tragedy when we live our lives half way always waiting for that elusive non-assured future. What if tomorrow will not come? What will they say about you? Will they remember you for your passion or be underwhelmed by your lack of enthusiasm?
passsion

I want to live with so much drive that it could tire me out. I want to live so passionately that I cannot dare to waste time on trivialities. I want that. It’s a great tragedy to live a life half-wit and only experience a glimpse of what life could be. Life is a self-made story and it will read exactly what you write in it daily.

As Mbugua Mwangi and his fiancé, Rosemary Wahito, were laid to rest next to each other, they will stand as the mark of the power of love, the beauty of commitment and the intensity of devotion. Your lives were short lived but your legacy will live on in the hearts of many. I may not have had the pleasure to meet you, but I will surely have the honour of immortalizing your legacy. RIP.
Mbugua_n_rose2

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Share your thoughts

 
